Merry Christmas!!

Merry Christmas from Uganda! Technically, it’s the morning after. All of our computers ran out of charge yesterday so we had to wait until someone turned on a generator to get them back up and running. It has been unusually cloudy here so the solar panels that are used for electricity haven’t been collecting enough energy to keep up with all of us!

Yesterday we went to our first Ugandan church service. I asked what denomination it is and they said that it is Church of Uganda which I think is Anglican. It was a particularly exciting day because not only was it Christmas, it was also this church’s first service! Our host Patrick donated money to put a roof on the brick frame that had been constructed so a few hundred people showed up to dedicated the church and have the first service. Apparently, when you dedicate a church in Uganda, you have the whole congregation go outside, sing and walk around the church three times clockwise to cast the devil out. I got a ton of great pictures but I guess you’ll have to take my word for it because it seems unlikely I’m going to be uploading them anytime soon :). An interesting element of the service was the offering. They took a collection and I noticed that a few people put in some sweet potatoes, corn and eggs. They didn’t have any money so they brought some food which is quite a sacrifice here especially in the dry months. So in that case, the minister holds up the items to the congregation and basically has a mini auction. The church needs the money so rather than take the food items, they sell them off! Very clever I thought.

After church we got a taste of our own medicine. People were inundating us for photos. We were reluctant celebrities but patiently posed for photo after photo. A man with a film camera was snapping photos and Patrick said that “he will make a kill” by selling all the printed photos to the villagers. I got a cute picture of a little boy in a red, white and blue jersey with Obama on it. Africans love Obama!

After church we came home and had a big feast and played some games. A nice relaxing time was had by all. I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas!

5 thoughts on “Merry Christmas!!

  1. Merry X mas Shelly!

    Isabella and i miss ya! Sounds like you will have lots of good stories to tell when u back! Hope u get to wear tank tops πŸ™‚ Having a glass of wine for u…. Love ya, Heather and Isabella

    • Thanks! Merry Christmas and Happy Belated Birthday! I hope you had a fun night out. Hopefully, next year I’ll finally be around for your birthday :). Give Isabella a big hug and kiss from me. I’ll see you all in a couple of weeks!!

  2. Glad to hear of your adventures and the very unique Christmas Service with the new church. I talked via messages with Kyle yesterday (Disneyland wiped out real phone chats). Got the kids back to the airport and they are on their way back to Indiana. Life goes back to quiet 😦
    Keep up the good work. I love the posts and can’t wait to see the pictures when you get back. Hopefully you have a big enough memory card. Love you Mom

    • Don’t worry, about my memory card, I’ve been uploading pictures to my computer as I go so I can wipe out the memory card and start over each time they’re uploaded. Philippe is also upload all of our pictures too so we’ll have a back up! πŸ™‚ I miss you guys! I am hopefully on the tail end of a yucky cold/flu. I have had a sore throat and body aches but today I’m feeling much better. Our host keeps trying to convince me that whiskey and warm water will cure me. Hahaha.

Leave a Reply

