Graduation Day

Tomorrow is our last full day in the village. We have prepared some fancy certificates for all of the workshop attendees and will hold a graduation ceremony. It’s hard to believe that we’re leaving on Saturday morning to go back to Kampala. I feel like we’ve just barely begun the work that needs to be accomplished but now is time to see what takes root and what will be rejected. While we’re here, the villagers are eager to please us and tell us what we want to hear. Once we’re gone, we can see what sort of follow through they will have and how we can follow up ourselves to help them along the way.

As we’ve been winding down, several people have been making their pleas to us. Most of them ask for school fees. In Uganda, many people can’t afford secondary school so they do their best to try and solicit for “sponsors.” It is such a sad state of affairs that one of the main elements that could help to lift them out of poverty- education- is so difficult to attain. One thing is for certain, there is no shortage of ways to help. I’ve personally been struggling with how to help more. I’m hoping that the relationships that I’ve been building in the village and in Kampala will help pave the way for more projects and follow up in the future. Nkondo hasn’t seen the last of me! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Graduation Day

  1. Shelly, how much does it cost to sponsor someone through secondary school? And how can an indivdual like me contribute specifically to your village?

    Also, can you bring me a small rock? Just pick one up from the ground–hopefully one that is somewhat interesting. I’d like to have one from the African continent to add to my collection.

    Thanks.

    • For one year of school and supplies, it’s about $100/year. I am going to look into options on how to pay the school directly. People are so poor here, that I have a feeling it would be too tempting to spend the money on other things if the families received it directly. Two of the women that I’m here with have agreed to help a girl here with her school fees. They are hoping to return in December of next year to assess her progress, check her attendance etc. I’ll see what I can figure out for you. It would be ideal to set something up here so that way you can check on the student’s progress. We have two Rotary members also returning to Uganda in May so we’re working on being sure there is some follow up and accountability.

      And as for your rock, I’ll go on the hunt shortly. I have stumbled across some quartz-looking rocks out here, so I’ll see if I can find one of those. 🙂

  2. Hi Shelly,

    I can’t believe you are almost dome. What an exciting adventure it has been. I’m looking forward to seeing all of the pictures!

    Best,
    Debra

Leave a Reply

