Up 19 lbs as I Enter my THIRD Trimester

For those of you keeping track, I have begun  my third (and final) trimester. Apparently, there is some conjecture over whether your third trimester starts with your 27th or 28th week so I took the liberty of deciding that for me, it started last week!! You don’t realize until you’re pregnant how mentally important these milestones are.

I actually thought that last week was the beginning of my 26th week but somewhere along the way, I lost a whole week. Much to my surprise when Babycenter.com sent me my weekly email, they were congratulating me on my 27th week. They claim the baby is about the size of a head of cauliflower.[update: since this was originally drafted the baby has now graduated to an eggplant]. Just when I think that all of the baby books/websites have run out of produce comparisons, they surprise me. Boom! Eggplant. I can’t wait to see next week. The What to Expect When You’re Expecting suggested picking up a 2 lb. chuck roast next time I was at the supermarket to get an idea of the babies size and weight and to that I have to say EWWWWW. Let’s stick with produce. This week is marked by her beginning to open her eyes, respond to loud noised and practicing swallowing- very promising skills. See! Already our baby is a genius!!

And a heavy genius baby at that. I mean NINETEEN pounds! Jeez, I still have about 12 weeks to go. I am left to assume that she must be a very chubby fetus. I mean I am sure that my precipitous weight gain has absolutely nothing to do with the release of Jack in the Box’s bacon milkshake, my new found love for Naked juices (or any juice really) or the fact that it’s Girl Scout cookie season. Kyle makes the good point that they really shouldn’t be called Thin Mints, maybe Fatty Mints or Delicious Devil cookies, you get the point. You put those puppies in the freezer and they are a little piece of heaven. What’s even more dangerous is that Kyle has no desire for them so I am left to eat them all. And eat them I have. I’m about three four five boxes in to my five box purchase which I think really exhibits a lot of restraint on my part. But enough about the baby’s weight problem…

For those of you who don’t know, we finally decided on Lucy Tregembo Sand for the name. It feels so much more fun to address her by name. As in “Lucy, mama needs some more cake right now so please shift downward so it will fit in what’s left of my stomach” or “Lucy, I’d really appreciate it if you could knock off your Tae Bo while I’m trying to do my prenatal yoga. People are starting to stare.” You know, things like that.

And lots of people have been asking how I’m doing and to that I say, “pretty good.” I’ve had brief bouts of heartburn and lots of backaches and hip aches but everything has been manageable so far. By the time, Lucy arrives, I told Kyle that he will be an expert masseuse. Between my constant requests and the childbirth classes (more on that in a future post), he is getting plenty of practice!

So for now, I’ll leave you with my latest baby bump photo- all 19lbs of it.

Twenty-eight weeks and counting!

One thought on “Up 19 lbs as I Enter my THIRD Trimester

Leave a Reply

